Demi in Art 110

Wk10 -Art Experience – Fiber Art Social Network

Leave a comment

This week we created a wall of networks inside of Professor Zucman’s office. It was crowded and a bit hectic to move around the small room, but it was fun to casually talk with my classmates that were inside at the same time as me.

0014I placed my photo in the corner of the room. I did not have any black strings attached to anyone because I did not know anyone from before this class. I had a lot of red string because of the classmate conversations and one white one from sketching in the Japanese garden with Raylyn.

img_6178I made a chart similar to the one in the office in my sketchbook. I placed myself in the center of the page and listed names from my family, friends, significant other, etc. The blue is all my family relationships. Also with this, I drew lines for everyone’s relationship, not just myself with them which is why there are so many blue lines everywhere lol. The green lines indicate friendships, red for romantic relationships, and pink for acquaintances.

0015I apply the term “Social Network” to my real life and real life friends. I want to see what my friends are up to so that is why I use social network for them. I think that Dunbar’s Number does make sense. In the age of social media, it is getting harder and harder to truly make a connection with someone. For myself, I find it hard to keep up with multiple people so it makes sense to me that we can only have 150 meaningful relationships. To have over 1,000 Facebook friends mean that you only know them. You add each other simply because you know each other. If I had that many Facebook friends I would expect them all to be acquaintances and not much more. The Social Networks that I visualized for Art 110 and personally did not surprise me. I got what I expected and did not realize anything new. I would like to have about 10 close relationships in my life, aside from family. More than that would be too much to handle and it seems like being social would be tiring instead of fun. Not everyone on my social media are my real friends. I follow them and vice-versa mostly out of courtesy as long as I know who they are or have an idea. If it is a random account or fake profiles I just decline the request. I use these weak ties to promote things for myself. I recently promoted a fundraising event for my cheer team and also I recruit through my social platforms for clubs.

Leave a Reply

