Demi in Art 110

Wk9- Artist Conversation – Carmina Correa

Leave a comment

Exhibition Information

Artist: Carmina Correa
Exhibition: A Beach in Symmetry and A Breach in Symmetry
Media: Mixed Media, Sugar
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov West, Gatov East
Website: N/A
Instagram: N/A

About the Artist

0018Carmina Correa is an undergraduate student in the CSULB School of Art working towards her BFA in sculpture. This is her final year here and she would like to go to graduate school eventually at either UCSD, UCI, or UCB because they are great research schools. Carmina’s professional career goal is fabricating for other artists. She works in 3D modeling and has taken a 14in scale model and made it 14ft and would like to continue doing that kind of stuff. This gallery is a collection of works between three artists and within it, two belong to Carmina: the sugar piece and the confessional box. These pieces are inspired by Carmina’s Filipino-American background and her being Type 2 Diabetic. This is her first gallery within the student galleries, but has done many others.

Formal Analysis

0015The first piece I saw was the sugar piece. I was confused as to what it was at first, but when I talked to her I understood it. When the show opened on Sunday, it was originally clear, but now it is melting, dragging, and fogging so the color and form has changed because it is water soluble. To make this, Carmina created a silicone mold, cast hard sugar into the mold, and then let it set into a slab. Each layer took about an hour each to complete. When making sugar pieces, the artist allocated 24 hours straight to make them because it is important to her personal practice. Also, I do not have a strong sense of smell so I did not notice it, but I heard my classmates talking about why it smelled sweet in that general area where the piece was and when we found out it was sugar we understood why.

The next piece that Carmina did was the confessional booth. It was located in the corner of the gallery straight from the door entrance. You walk in on the side of the back wall through a black curtain, and then step onto a small platform to view the inside contents. At first you will only see the religious figure through the diamond shaped hole, but upon closer look, you will see a wide array of fun and entertaining dolls and items from anime, Disney, cartoons, other shows, and then religious candles. Concerning the exterior, everything seemed to be made of wood.

Content Analysis

Synthesis / My Experience

I included pictures of the other works in the gallery by  Sam Medeiros and Nicholas OConnell because I think it is important to see how Carmina Correa’s works was cohesive with theirs. My favorite piece from Carmina was the confessional booth because I have a strong affection for the things inside such as the Sailor Mercury body pillow, the same Rilakkuma doll that I have, the Totoro doll, the pastel yellow alpaca, the Duffy bear, and the Winnie the Pooh and Stitch tsum tsums. When I first walked into the confessional booth I was super excited by myself because I recognized all these items. I can relate to the artist’s work because I am the type of person to keep everything to myself and rarely talk to anyone about my “confessions.” This is where I find comfort in my large collection of stuffed animals or extremely close people. I should have taken a picture of the sugar piece from a different angle because when you look below the top layer, it looks super cool the way it is collapsing and breaking in some parts. I also think that it is super commendable of Carmina to work with sugar as a material to keep her away from sugar due to her disease. It takes a lot of self control and diligence to just do the job for 24 hours straight without getting sidetracked. I hope I can be more like that someday lol.

Leave a Reply

