Demi in Art 110

Wk8 – Art Experience – Sketching in the Garden

1 Comment

This week we went to the Earl Burns Miller Japanese Garden at the school to sketch! At first I was a bit overwhelmed of what to draw because of all the leaves and bushes there were, but once I sat down in front of the zen garden and started drawing, it got easier.

img_5602These were my first two sketches. The leaves on my first sketch of the zen garden look very sparse compared to the actual scene, but it got tedious very fast lol. My favorite things about the first sketch are the rocks and the shape of the tree. The long hedge is hard to identify by the picture itself, but I think it’s decent. The little gate at the edge of the zen garden was fun to draw though!

img_5222img_5603The next thing I sketched was this pathway with an umbrella. I drew this because I really liked the shape of the umbrella. However, my umbrella is much more round and not as flat as the one in real life. I focused mostly on the umbrella so I did not draw much of the surrounding bushes except for the ones with some flowers on it.

img_5223img_5604The last things I sketched was the bridge and a scene to the left of the tree that is not pictured. The bridge was a bit hard to draw because there were so many people on it and I was looking at it from afar so I could not capture accurate details. The last picture is my favorite because I prefer drawing people. While drawing, I saw a girl sitting on a rock next to the lake in front of me so I decided to draw that image at the end. I did not take a picture of her because I didn’t want to be creepy lol.

img_5226I also drew a picture of this lion statue near the entrance, but it’s so bad that it’s embarrassing so I chose not to post it. I think this is a good place to draw randomly or get inspiration so I may come back eventually. This activity was pretty relaxing and it also happened to be my first time at the Japanese Garden so it was a fun new experience!

One thought on “Wk8 – Art Experience – Sketching in the Garden

  1. Beautiful work Demi! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

